DEV Community

Slick3gz
Slick3gz

Posted on

Chugging along

Just wanted to share a little bit of progress. If you have been following me, you may have seen that I was switching environments by moving into my new “office” space from my bedroom. I was able to get a decent size whiteboard that has already proven useful.

I’ve been working through the K&R C book very slowly. I’m trying to depend more on myself for solutions to problems instead of googling when I’m stuck. I’ve owned up to the fact that I tend to speed through things to get “there” but end up not getting the results I want. I’m trying to be more methodical in my approach by breaking each problem down into simple steps using the whiteboard, documenting my code as much as possible (I can always remove later if it’s obnoxious), and learning how to use the debugger. I think these steps keep me in the problem solving mindset that allows me to accomplish my goal.

I feel guilty that it’s taken me this long to get to this point in programming. But I keep in mind that there is no “set” path to becoming the “genius programmer”. There is only me and my ability to solve problems with the tools I have acquired so far.

Again, I would like to say that I’m thankful for everyone that has shared their knowledge that I can learn from every day.

Top comments (0)