DEV Community

Somtochukwu Aniebue
Somtochukwu Aniebue

Posted on

Installation of Python and VS Code

I will like to talk about my first day of learning. I just installed python and VS code, at first when i downloaded python during installation it was taking forever. I even thought i had made a mistake but it eventually installed. I have not yet installed my VS Code though i have downloaded it.
Today i learnt about what is programming and programming languages. in a short explanation i will say programming is telling your computer what you want it to do and also ensuring it solves it in the language it understands. Now this is where programming languages come in, telling my computer what to do is not just typing words in English. I have to use programming languages so it will be able to understand and complete my tasks. Example is Python, there are so many languages but python is my focus.
Python is a high level programming language that is used for a lot of purposes like web development, game development data science and so many more. I also learnt about the name of the software we write codes on, it is called IDE an acronym for Integrated Development Environment.
An IDE is a software application that helps developers to write, test and debug their code more efficiently. Examples are Jupyter notebook, Visual Studio Code and PY Charm. For my learning i will be making use of Visual Studio Code, i know so many people use jupyter notebook and it is good. We just have to find the one we are good at and stick to it.
That's all i learnt for today and i will say i have been enriched in knowledge, don't always try to learn new things too quick. Always take it step by step. that will be all for today, thank you for giving me audience. Will be back tomorrow with more knowledge, really looking forward to sharing my experience with everyone on this new learning journey.

Top comments (0)