DEV Community

Anderson Reinkordt
Anderson Reinkordt

Posted on

Streamlining My Writing and Publishing Process

I love to type. I love to write. I love using a command line interface. I love emacs.

I DON'T love writing in any web browser.

Is it that bad? No, of course not. Is dev.to really simple? You bet! Markdown is easy and the clean layout and simplicity of this platform for writing is a huge plus. Unfortunately, for me it's just that I don't want to open a browser tab and click any buttons at all... just to start typing out what I am thinking about. The fraction of time it takes to do that is distracting for my train of thought. I would rather spend my time building a cli that will allow me to quickly:

1) Start/Edit a post in emacs
2) Save/Publish that post to dev.to

Does dev.to have a REST API? NOT YET! Hopefully, this will come along soon! In the meantime, is there a way for me to contribute to this development? There is a future public repo, currently acting as a placeholder for discussion about the platform. Obviously, there are others with a similar desire and willingness to contribute. I'll add my two cents for now and hope for the future!

To be continued...

Top comments (0)