DEV Community

Cover image for Welcome to PHP 7.4.0 (I upgrade from 7.3.12)
Sony AK
Sony AK

Posted on

Welcome to PHP 7.4.0 (I upgrade from 7.3.12)

Dear PHP,
I am using you since... maybe 5.3 and you already helped me a lot on my nerd journey. Today I open php.net and I forgot that Nov 28 is the historical day. It's the launch of PHP 7.4.0.

Congrats to all PHP core team, QA team and all others people that make this happen.

Currently I have PHP 7.3.12 running on my CentOS 7.7 using Remi repo. How to update? I just do this.

yum-config-manager --enable remi-php74
yum update

then

php -v

then see below

[root@sony]# php -v
PHP 7.4.0 (cli) (built: Nov 26 2019 20:13:36) ( NTS )
Copyright (c) The PHP Group
Zend Engine v3.4.0, Copyright (c) Zend Technologies
    with Zend OPcache v7.4.0, Copyright (c), by Zend Technologies

Ow nice :)

PHP 7.4.0 comes with several improvements and new features.

  • Typed Properties
  • Arrow Functions
  • Limited Return Type Covariance and Argument Type Contravariance
  • Unpacking Inside Arrays
  • Numeric Literal Separator
  • Weak References
  • Allow Exceptions from __toString()
  • Opcache Preloading
  • Several Deprecations
  • Extensions Removed from the Core

Ow ow, someday I will use those new things step-by-step as needed.

Thank you PHP.

Reference:

Top comments (0)