DEV Community

Sowmya Yellapragada
Sowmya Yellapragada

Posted on

My Hacktoberfest!

Hello!
I'm Sowmya. I am currently in my junior year studying Computer Science at Indraprastha University.

This is my very first time at hacktoberfest and have to say this, this has been a truly wonderful experience. No, this is not an exaggeration.

This is coming from a girl who is afraid of anything that mentions coding. Being in the almost final (pre-final) year really pushed me to do something new and maybe overcome my.. uhmm fear? I think it's more of improving what you are bad/ not so good at.

I have started practicing coding in python in HackerRank for almost a year now (I strongly recommend people to do this. This really improves your skills, trust me) and finally contributed to hacktoberfest this year.

I made 5 PRs in total and only 4 got accepted by the time the fest came to an end. I tried my best to contribute to open source mostly in Python.

I'll be looking forward to contributing to open source next year too!:)

Top comments (0)