DEV Community

Matt Cushing
Matt Cushing

Posted on

Using Twitter as a development tool

I was taking over from a consultant and realized that we had a lot of data that we were collecting, but weren't putting it to good use. I also saw that we had a lot of manual processes that we could eliminate if we uses SSIS properly to grab data.

So I started teaching myself SSRS and SSIS and lo and behold, I had a mountain of data. Now what??

I started my twitter account in 2011(https://twitter.com/SQLKohai) and after learning that #ssrshelp and #ssishelp tags in my tweets led me to some quick solutions I found myself 'talking' to many people who either had similar issues, or had found solutions to something along the lines of what I was looking for.

Fast forward 7 years, and I'm getting to meet some of them, I'm reading the textbooks that a bunch of them are writing, and I'm preparing to speak at a User Group event in January.

Give me a shout on Twitter and I'll introduce you to the 'SQL Family' sometime. For me, finding a group of likeminded, open people, was really refreshing.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
aaronkempf profile image
Aaron Kempf

can you give more details on how you used SSIS to pull data off of Twitter?