DEV Community

Shaily Shah
Shaily Shah

Posted on

Contributing to timelydiff

"I recently contributed to a GitHub project by improving a function called timelydiff. This function calculates and formats the time difference between a given timestamp and the current time. First, I made sure to handle errors more effectively, providing clearer messages if someone tries to use the function with invalid input.

Additionally, I added a cool feature: now users can choose the date format they prefer! Whether it's the default format, 'dd/mm/yyyy', or 'mm/dd/yyyy', they have the power to customize. This makes the function more flexible for different use cases.

To make these changes, I created a new 'enhance-timelydiff' branch, where I made my improvements. After testing everything to make sure it works smoothly, I committed my changes and pushed them to the GitHub repository. If others find these enhancements useful, they can easily review and integrate them into the main project. It was a small contribution, but it adds more clarity and customization to the code!"

Top comments (0)