DEV Community

Cover image for πŸš€ My first game using Ruby 2D
Sofia Sousa
Sofia Sousa

Posted on

πŸš€ My first game using Ruby 2D

Last week I discovered Ruby 2D in a blog here in dev.to and I have decided to try it.

Today, here is my first game using this library - Fifi Breaks Blocks. My version of a very, very famous and old school 2D game.

Alt Text

Take a look in the code: https://github.com/SofiaSousa/fifi-breaks-blocks :)

Bonus

During the implementation, I realized that ruby2d build wasn't able to handle other require or require_relative statement than the require 'ruby2d' in the main file.

So, I had the idea to create a Rake task to generate a new file with all code from the required files and build the app executable from that.

You can check the build task in the Rakefile.

Hope you enjoy it!

Top comments (0)