DEV Community

Cover image for                        S Collection:
Stacy Daniel
Stacy Daniel

Posted on

S Collection:

This is it!…what felt like years of hard work, frustration, tears and of course the many victories is all finally coming together!!

Project:

My final project here at Flatiron… S COLLECTION is a e commerce web application built using Ruby on Rails for the backend and React JS for the front. I wanted to venture out of my comfort zone and create something completely different to be able to add to my portfolio. This application consist of three models: User, Product and Transaction.

my models code

A user is able to Signup/Login to view a list of the pieces in the COLLECTION. They’re also able to select a specific piece to view more information and to be able to add it to his/her cart. I also implemented user authentication using Bcrypt and Jwt.

Challenges Faced:

One of the things I struggled most with was updating my state after my "REMOVE_FROM_CART" Delete action was fired. In order words, I needed my current state, my action(delete) to return a newState upon deleting an item.

Final remark:

As my journey in the bootcamp draws near, I know that learning is something that never stops, especially in the world of development. I am extremely excited to see what the future holds. I am super thankful for Flatiron, for giving me the opportunity to break into Tech , and for also pushing me out my comfort zone . I will be forever grateful when I look back and see how far I have come.

Happy Coding 😁

Top comments (0)