DEV Community

Cover image for Crafting Interpreters
Stefan Alfbo
Stefan Alfbo

Posted on • Updated on

Crafting Interpreters

I just bought the book Crafting Interpreters by Robert Nystrom which is also available online. Many has recommended this book so my hopes are high 😀 and the goal is to read it during my summer vacation. I believe that the books title says all about its content.

I have managed to read the first two chapters so far. The first chapter is an overview and introduction to the book, and it has made a good first impression. I also love these small snippets of information

Yacc wasn’t the first of its ilk, which is why it’s named “Yacc”—Yet Another Compiler-Compiler. A later similar tool is Bison, named as a pun on the pronunciation of Yacc like “yak”.

The second chapter walks us through all parts of an interpreter and compiler just to get an overview of their responsibilities, and there is a lot of terms that is brought up; IR, symbol table, front end, middle end, back end, p-code and single-pass-compilers, to just mention a few.

Looking forward to read the next 28 chapters.

Top comments (0)