DEV Community

Steven Mills
Steven Mills

Posted on

What a Year.

What a year it has been. October 10th, 2016 is when I started my online coding apprenticeship / mentorship / bootcamp / whatever you want to call it, and it has been a non-stop crazy roller coaster of a journey ever since.

I have so many emotions right now of relief, stress, happiness and anxiety. The feeling of being finished with this program is such a sigh of relief. For the past year, once a week, every Thursday at 7pm I met with my mentor. On top of that, I would try to put at least one hour of work towards my bootcamp everyday and now, I’m done. What am I going to do now?

This leads into my stress and anxiety feeling of, “Oh crap, now I need to find a job with what I learned, now I have to continue learning and pushing myself without the help of a structured course.”

However, this does lead to some excitement of whats to come and all the new things I will learn and be able to do because of the hard work I’ve put in over the last year. I have learned a lot about myself and how I learn, I know the basics of programming and from there, can really launch into teaching myself all sorts of languages and frameworks, the possibilities are endless.

Currently I am interning at a local web marketing company, but I know I need to start the job search for once this is over. I have already met with some recruiters that are excited to get me into a position and I have already been getting contacted from a few other companies wanting to chat about my skills.

I am very exited about what is to come and what this means for my family. If you’ve been following on my old blog, then you know, over the last few years I have been struggling on finding where I fit it career wise. For almost a decade I was pursuing the photography life until I realized that it is more of a passion of mine that can’t provide for my family.

This is how I found web developing. I have always been into tech and learning new things, so it seemed like a great fit, not to mention my background in graphic design is a huge plus in this field as well.

Heres to what the next year brings!

Top comments (0)