DEV Community

Cover image for My first time participating in Hacktoberfest 2024
Suami Rocha
Suami Rocha

Posted on

My first time participating in Hacktoberfest 2024

This is a submission for the 2024 Hacktoberfest Writing challenge: Maintainer Experience

This was my first time participating in this event, and I was really happy because I was able to actively contribute to open-source projects that I really like and follow.

I made a total of five PRs in beginner-level projects since I wasn't very confident in my developer skills. So I started my journey with a really cool project of useful links for learning programming languages. My first PR was rejected because I messed up the commit formatting, hehe. I didn't give up, tried again, and now I'm waiting, hoping it will be approved.

The second PR was for a really cool app made with Flutter and Rust, which is very similar to Notion, called AppFlowy. This PR was a bit challenging for me because I wasn't sure how to contribute. I looked at the issues, evaluated the documentation, and didn't have much success, but I still tried something and submitted the PR. I'm also waiting for that one to be accepted.

The third PR was to add a link to a learning path for C, and the fourth was to update the README of a project idea, which was really nice. Now I'm searching for my last repository to submit a PR and wait.

But I absolutely loved this experience and recommend it to every beginner dev, it's worth gold!

Top comments (0)