DEV Community

suhhee1011
suhhee1011

Posted on

Planning for Release 0.4

This blog post is about how I planned what I am going to work on Release 0.4.

In the requirements, there were a few options that I can choose from. First, I chose to fix a bug or new feature that challenge me on the big open source project and I started to find the issue for it. However, even though I spend 5 days finding appropriate issues for me. However, the issues that I found seemed too easy which cannot challenge myself, or too difficult which I cannot finish within the deadline.

So, instead of spending time on finding "good" issues, I decided to keep working on the internal issues of telescope dashboard bugs or new features. As the issues that I currently found are not difficult issues, I decided to work on a number of related small issues.

There 3 issues that I am currently working on.
The first Issue is about the Sidebar Menu item being duplicated.
beforeFixes

This issue was found when I worked on my internal issue on Release 0.3. When I working on release 0.3, I got a chat from a professor that the sidebar menu items were duplicated. However, on my local side, the menu was not duplicated.

So, when I working on this issue last Friday, I fetched the master branch of the telescope of my local branch and pull it again. And I found that the code was duplicated. So, I just get rid of it and pushed and created a pull request.

However, I got a comment that I removed some needed code from the last commit. That was because while I was working on the issue there was a person who worked on the same file with me. And my commit overwrites his fixes. Hence, I tried to fetch again and push it again. However, the git bash asked me to pull my branch again and it makes my code back to the wrong state. I was googling and kept trying to fetch, pull and rebase the commits. And... it crashed my git branch. Hence, I deleted the current branch and create a new one with the latest code and fixed the sidebar bug, push and create new pull request. And it is merged!
This is after I fixed.

afterFixes

For next week, I am going to work on two issues that I am currently assigned. Second issue that I am going to work on is about Weekly Commit displaying bug and the another issue is about Dashboard and Build log has different sidebar menu.

For this release 0.4, I am planning to work on at least 4 bugs for the dashboard page of the telescope. And I will keep trying to search for the challenging bug or new feature of the dashboard page. As I am working on the status dashboard page of the telescope, I am expecting myself to be knowledgeable about how to put git status on the website. This is because I am planning to create my portfolio page this winter break, and I hope that this experience will help to put my Github status on my portfolio page. And in the last release, it was a very nice experience to get lots of comments from different perspectives and fix my code based on the code review. However, I worked release 0.3 a bit late, I was in hurry to write and edit the code. So, I started on the first week of release 0.4 and I am expecting that it will allow me to have enough time to work on the comments of my new pull requests.

Top comments (0)