DEV Community

Sumei C Kom
Sumei C Kom

Posted on

Blog #1: Why did you decide to study Software Engineering?

I decided to get into software engineering for a plethora of reasons. I am currently a part-time student at The University of North Carolina Greensboro, pursuing a bachelor's in Political Science. I would like to combine my two certifications to work for a political institution, a non-profit organization, or a think tank. Something that I have noticed is that there are many college graduates that are unable to find a job in their field after graduating. I hope by holding both degrees it will make me very appealing to the job market versus other fresh graduates. 

Another appealing aspect of software engineering is how broad it encompasses. It covers multiple industries such as nonprofit, health care, media, etc. There also seem to be many different types of fields available to explore through software engineering, such as creating webpages, debugging, and enhancing a company's network system. I like the idea of having so many options available to me.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jwp profile image
John Peters