DEV Community

Cover image for Planning my Linux Homelab and web server setup ..
sureshsaragadam
sureshsaragadam

Posted on

Planning my Linux Homelab and web server setup ..

Task 1 Enough Research and Planning.
Task 2 Prepare a roadmap - or a blue print

I am planning to setup up a HOME-LAB in Linux using open-source tools, and further extend the home-lab to my eCommerce web-server project and later an application server project.

Here we are, setting up the initial goals...

  1. Identify the Hardware required for home-lab
  2. setup your router and switches
  3. Plan network topology and vlan
  4. Setup a DNS Server
  5. Setup a NAS Server
  6. Setup proxy server
  7. Setup ntop,
  8. Setup Nagios Server
  9. Setup Graylog Server
  10. Setup Backup Server
  11. Setup web-server
  12. setup application server.

This is a long journey to go, let us achieve one after the other. i keep publishing my tasks updated.

Top comments (0)