DEV Community

Cover image for Solve: Ubuntu 20.04 booting to a black screen with login
Susan Githaiga
Susan Githaiga

Posted on

Solve: Ubuntu 20.04 booting to a black screen with login

Hello there dear reader.
As a Linux user, you've probably encountered alot of bugs while using the system. Some are minor bugs that take only a few seconds or hours to fix, but nothing ever prepares you for the moment where your PC boots into a black screen of death.

tty screen

That has to be one of the worst moments in the life of a developer. You have no UI to use. When you start your PC, you are in a huge terminal with no user interface. You literally have to learn how to configure your PC.

linux meme

But worry no more, I have once faced this bug and in this article, I'm going to explain how to solve(how I solved) this error.
When I got the error, every time I tried to boot my machine, I got the following output:

Ubuntu 20.0.4 LTS <my_username>- pc tty1
<my_username>-pc login:
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

The output above is a TTY(teletypewriter). A TTY, or teletypewriter, is a subsystem in Linux and Unix that manages the interaction between the kernel and user space. It does this by providing a set of drivers that allow the kernel to communicate with physical and virtual terminals.
These drivers are responsible for handling the input and output of data, as well as providing support for features such as line editing and session management.In other words, TTY is the foundation on which all user interaction with Linux and Unix is built.
If you want to learn more about teletypewriter, read more on this article: The TTY Demystified.

To solve this, follow these steps:

  1. Log into tty with your username and password:
Ubuntu 20.0.4 LTS <my_username>- pc tty1
<my_username>-pc login: <my_username>

<my_username>-pc $user: <your password>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  1. Try unsistalling the ubuntu-desktop package by typing:
sudo apt remove ubuntu-desktop
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  1. If your PC does not have the ubuntu-desktop package installed, the terminal will return:
package not found
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  1. If the package is missing, you can try re-installing the package by running:
sudo apt install ubuntu-desktop
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

This process might take a while. After the installation is complete, restart your PC and your desktop application will automatically load.

I hope this article helps. If you like the article, please leave a like and feel free to leave any concerns on the comment section.That is all for today.

Top comments (0)