DEV Community

Cover image for How I Managed to Dual Boot Ubuntu on my Laptop with Optane memory
Swaraj Mahindre
Swaraj Mahindre

Posted on

How I Managed to Dual Boot Ubuntu on my Laptop with Optane memory

I have been a Windows user from the beginning, But I wanted to taste the Linux as everyone was hyped about it, But having no experience with I decided to go with Ubuntu

Why Linux?

  • Linux offers you better control over your operating System
  • Linux is free to use, I used Windows before, and IOS would require me to buy a whole new hardware

Choosing Ubuntu

Being someone who had no experience using Linux as searched up for the most beginner friendly Distro

  • Ubuntu had a number of active forums(official or unofficial), that meant a lot of resources to look at if I ever get stuck somewhere.
  • Ubuntu was the first was suggested by a lot of people in the DEV Community (again I came here because of the hype, so I wanted to go where the hype goes.

After choosing Ubuntu, Like any normal users I looked up for some articles to help me walk through the whole dual boot process. Followed each and every step but couldn't find my Live USB in the boot order. I looked for it again, did the flashing process again, But nothing popped up in my Boot Order.

This happened due to the Intel's Optane memory! What is Optane Memory? optane memory is Intel's product, that goes into your M.2 Nvme slot and efficiently caches all the programs and files that you use frequently, just in order to give you a performance boost. (Even though I have Intel optane in my device I would personally not recommend you Intel's Optane, just buy an Nvme SSD if you really want the speed.

The only way to Dual Boot a Computer with Optane Memory is to remove the Intel Optane from the device(or is it?).

    You can do it with a Software Just disable the Optane memory from this application.

    Then go to your BIOS setting and change your file storage from RST(Intel Rapid Storage Technology) to AHCI. and then install the USB Stick back and now You are ready to Boot into Ubuntu and follow any other tutorial you found on the Internet.

    Yes you will lose the benefits of your Optane memory, But installing a light OS like Ubuntu won't require a lot of resources and work fast enough on your Mechanical Hard disk.

    Booting into Windows always takes me 3-4 min, and that's why I am slowly shifting to Ubuntu as my main Operation System, Will get the SSD as soon as possible.

Top comments (0)