DEV Community

Muhammad Syukur Abadi
Muhammad Syukur Abadi

Posted on

Hacktoberfest: From Community To Society

About Hacktoberfest

Hacktoberfest is a month long event that commemorate annually, where developers across all level expertise from various region and various language celebrates by pushing, giving feedback to open source software.

Throwback From Past Event

Hacktoberfest 2021 was my first attempt participating on this event. During that period, I accomplished over 7 pull requests to Bellshade organization. Bellshade is a open source community that urges Indonesia beginner developer to learn and contribute to open source software.

The organization has various topic - from Assembly to Python - that everyone across any level of expertise are able to contribute by submitting their code or review the pull requests. Last year my submissions was commited to Python repository, where I covered about basics to intermediate Python topics and it's data structures implementation.

The Spirit Of Giving

One year later since my first attempt on participating Hacktoberfest, I realized that Hacktoberfest light the spirit of giving what we have, apart how small and simple they are.

When this article was written, I was an senior in my college. Indonesia college student are required to participate in community service as part of their credit. The community service lasts for 45 days. During that period, we are required to plan and execute various topics of action plan.

We undergo the community service at Jambuwer village, located at hill of Kawi mountain in Malang. There are 4 elementary schools and a junior high school available there, and I was curious how far the junior high school students have learned there. The teacher told us that learning materials are made the same for all classes, because if learning follows the existing curriculum, students will not be able to take part in learning at all. The junior high school has 5 available PCs which are usually use for practicum. I seek this is as opportunity to introduce website to them.

The learning material I gave isn't that complicated. I covered about what is web, how web works, and components of web. At the end of each session, we code together, make a simple website with simple tags. They are very passionate when they were coding!.

Aftermath

In my opinion, what I gave to them doesn't look significant, compared what I can give to developer community. However, I am sure that what I gave to them is a form of what Hacktoberfest value holds : The Spirit Of Giving

Top comments (0)