DEV Community

tanyaa-arora
tanyaa-arora

Posted on

Internship Experience: My First Week Unveiled

For most of us, the first internship typically occurs in the third or last year of college, and that holds true in my case as well. I am currently in my last semester of Engineering and have recently joined a startup as a software development intern. In this blog post, I will cover all the things I have learned so far, discuss my assumptions about working in an IT company, outline what beginners need to know, and explore what one can expect from an internship.

Navigating Assumptions: What You Need to Know as a Beginner

I used to believe that I needed to know a lot to land an internship, but to my surprise, that's not the case. Companies don't expect you to know everything; a basic understanding of even one programming language can help secure the position. More important than existing knowledge is your willingness to learn new things. In my office, I was assured that I could always approach any senior for help if I faced any problems. This emphasizes the importance of not hesitating to ask questions, even seemingly silly ones, and going the extra mile to learn something that might not be immediately useful but will benefit you in the future.

Overcoming Workload Myths

Another misconception I had about being an intern was that the company would overload me with work. However, in my initial days, they allowed me time to get acquainted with everything before assigning small tasks. These tasks were either easy for me or involved a small concept I had to learn to complete. This experience taught me that companies won't burden you with excessive work from the beginning; they might start with manageable tasks that facilitate learning. It's crucial to be honest about what you don't know; maintaining transparency and a learning attitude is key.

The Development Cycle: Exploring Environments in Software Development

Moving beyond assumptions and reality, I learned about the various environments used in the development and deployment cycle in my first week. These include the development environment for creating and testing the product, the QA environment for bug checking, and the staging environment—a replica of the production environment where we can preview the product's appearance and functionality for users. The final step is the production environment, where the code goes live for users. This cycle continues, enhancing the product's quality with each new version.

Overcoming Overwhelm: Consistency and Connection Building

Feeling overwhelmed is normal, but consistent effort will help you overcome it. Building connections in the office, engaging in conversations with different people, and participating in various activities can lead to unexpected learning experiences. Remember, working all the time can be draining, so take breaks to refresh your mind.

Essentials for Internship Success: Language, Version Control, and Confidence

Securing an internship requires only a basic understanding of one programming language, a bit of familiarity with version control, and self-confidence. This formula worked out well for me and I hope it does for you too! Expect significant professional and personal growth during your internship, and make it a goal to absorb as much knowledge as possible.

So, for all the people out there who are going to kick off their internship journey anytime soon, I'd like to wish them luck and I hope you have a great learning experience!!

Top comments (0)