DEV Community

Thanh Van
Thanh Van

Posted on

Update for Telescope 2.6

Telescope v2.6.0 was originally planned with a bunch of issues, approximately 60 issues if I remember correctly. Surprisingly, our teammates were able to make it for this release in the limit time of two weeks. I cannot believe this is something we could do for Telescope.

What I have learned during the release

I have explored new concept that I have never known before, which is Github webhooks. The Github webhooks allow you to build or install a Github apps that can track any changes to your repository that you want to set up the webhook.

Events

When configuring a webhook, we can choose which events to catch to return the corresponding payloads. With repository change events tracking we can plan for very useful handling of requests sent to the server. We can change the list of event tracking VIA the API or UI anytime. By default, webhooks only track push events of the events.

Payloads

Payloads are understood as data package returned when there is a change of the tracked event. Each event type has a payload format corresponding to the information of that event.

This part is where I was struggling, I cannot get the correct sha for the Github payload during the release events. However, it is correct during the push events, but when we move to v2.5.0 release, it broke on both.

Final thoughts

I feel like I did not make a lot of changes during this release, I mostly spend time to read the document about webhooks and try to understand it. I will try to push myself forward when doing the release in future.

Top comments (0)