DEV Community

Tim Roberts
Tim Roberts

Posted on

Close to the end

This weeks blog marks the second last blog I will be doing for this course. It's been a pretty wild ride, but I will do a proper reflection on the course for my last blog coming up next week. For now, as usual, let's talk about the week that was.

Octokit

In last weeks blog I had mentioned that I did some R&D into adding Octokit to the dependency discovery service, but needed to follow up with Jerry to clarify some things. After following up with Jerry, I figured out we just wanted to update the usage of octokit/request to be from octokit instead. This would give us more options later in the future.

After a couple of iterations, I was able to put up a PR for the issue. All I had to do was get ride of any references to octokit/request in the pnpm-lock.yaml and then do a pnpm install octokit. From there I just imported Octokit, assigned it to a variable and used the code as is, but just added the variable in front of the existing request like so.
Octokit

During the triage meeting, we had some more discussion arise about the PR. We decided that it would be best to also update the usage of some other octokit stuff we have going on in our status microservice.
Other

I ran into some issues trying to implement this so I switched my PR to a draft and am currently still troubleshooting. Should be able to get this in for 3.0.

Migrating with Prisma

I unintentionally ended up being the tester for the new Prisma migrations Duc had set up. During the planning meeting we had decided to meet at 2pm to properly triage some of the remaining issues for integrating the parser service. 2pm roles around and I notice that there is still a meeting going on that started at 1pm about the prisma migrations. When I joined the meeting they where just finishing up writing the documentation for performing a migration.

The professor then called me out to test it, which made sense because he wanted to see if the instructions they just made where clear enough for someone to successfully do a migration by just reading the documentation. Considering I had never even visited the Portainer site before, I was a great candidate. There where only a couple of things missing from the documentation, and a few of the steps needed to be rearranged to be in the proper order of operations, but I was able to successfully migrate! (Should have saved a screen grab of it)

Closing

So that was my week 13/14 for this course. As mentioned earlier, my last blog coming up next week will be a recap of the week that was, and then a overall reflection of how the course was and what I took away from it.

Top comments (0)