DEV Community

TechSavagery
TechSavagery

Posted on

DO Hackathon Dev Log #3

Rep Spec DO App Platform Hackathon Project

Rep Spec Task Board

The hack is complete! I definitely underestimated the time I would be able to spend on this project but I was able to create a MVP. Even more valuable, I was able to experiment with some cutting age web dev technologies!

Takeaways

  1. Next.js is very fun to hackaround with. I was able to new up a project from a template and deploy it within 15 minutes.
  2. Learned the benefits of Server Side Rendering + Static Generation to make next.js sites blazing fast.
  3. Worked with a few third party API's that I ahve not used before! Cloudinary + SendGrid
  4. Need to work on keeping my goals/tasks specific + measurable + timebound in order to complete all that I set out to
  5. JavaScript component libraries look amazing in demos but take some time to migrate existing app components. Look forward to a new PR to include those sexy ChakraUI components!

Top comments (0)