DEV Community

Cover image for Docker pull credentials error
Pablo Thasi
Pablo Thasi

Posted on

Docker pull credentials error

Hello! I hope you are doing well.

I want to tell you a little story about an error that I encountered a while ago with Docker Hub. I was trying to pull from Docker Hub and, to my surprise, an error appeared 😡 saying that my credentials were incorrect.

docker: Error response from daemon: Get https://<<image link>>: unauthorized: incorrect username or password. See 'docker run --help'.
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I wondered what had caused this error. It took me over 15 minutes of struggle before I found the solution. It was actually quite simple once I found it - I just needed to Google the error log and follow the instructions that I found. Here's the solution that worked for me:

docker logout
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
docker login
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Enter your credentials and the problem is solved 😀.

But the most interesting part of this story is understanding the cause of the error. I believe that every programmer should do the same - that way, you won't lose time if a similar situation arises again.

For me, the problem was that I had changed my password a few days earlier, but the old credentials were still in the cache. The docker logout command deletes old credentials, which solved the problem for me.

Isn't that interesting? Until next time 👋.

Top comments (0)