DEV Community

AI Stack Lab
AI Stack Lab

Posted on Originally published at aistacklab2026.blogspot.com

Best AI Video Generators in 2026: Free and Paid Tools Compared

Originally published on AI Stack Lab.

People searching for the best AI video generator add words like "free" and "not expensive" for a reason: the prices are confusing and the free tiers are rarely what they sound like. This post is about the hosted text-to-video and image-to-video products you use in a browser or app, and the question I care about is simple: what do you actually get without paying, and what does the first paid step buy? If you are still at the still-image stage, my comparison of AI image generators covers that side; this one is video only.

Method note: on October 27, 2026 I read the vendors' own pricing and product pages. I did not run my own render tests, so there are no quality scores or render times here, only what the vendors state, with gaps flagged as gaps. Two products I wanted to cover, Kling and Luma, would not give me a price (details below). No vendor pays us and there are no affiliate links to any of them.

The 30-second answer

  • Best all-round paid pick: Runway. It has the clearest plans, and it lists no watermarks from its first paid tier at $12/month billed yearly. Its 625 monthly credits equal 52 seconds of its Gen-4.5 model.
  • Best cheap multi-model sampler: Pika. Starter is $10/month ($8 billed yearly), and it hosts several third-party models alongside its own.
  • Best if you already pay for Google: Gemini Omni Flash, included in every Google AI plan from $4.99/month. It replaced Veo in the Gemini app.
  • Not an option any more: OpenAI's Sora. OpenAI's own page says the product has been unavailable since April 26, 2026.
  • Best "free forever": nobody, really. See the free-tier section.

Quick comparison

Tool Starting paid price (checked October 27, 2026) Free tier and watermark Best for
Runway Standard $15/month, or $12/month billed yearly; 625 credits/month Yes: 125 one-time credits. Watermark on free: not stated on the page (paid plans are listed "No watermarks") Creators who want one polished editor with many models
Pika Starter $10/month, or $8 billed yearly; 900 credits/month Yes, but 0 monthly credits (credit packs only). Page says no watermark, no commercial license Trying many models cheaply
Gemini Omni Flash (Google) Google AI Plus $4.99/month; Pro $19.99/month No free tier on the plans page (subscription required). Invisible SynthID watermark on all videos People already in Google's ecosystem
Sora (OpenAI) n/a Product no longer available since April 26, 2026 Nobody
Kling Could not verify Could not verify See the gap note below
Luma Could not verify Could not verify See the gap note below

How to read "credits" before you compare prices

A monthly price means nothing until you convert it into seconds of video. Runway makes that easy: it states what each plan's credits equal, and the numbers show how quickly cheap plans run out.

  • Standard, 625 credits: 52 seconds of Gen-4.5, or 104 seconds of Gen-4 Turbo.
  • Pro, 2,250 credits ($35/month, or $28 billed yearly): 187 seconds of Gen-4.5, or 375 seconds of Gen-4 Turbo.
  • Max, 9,500 credits ($95/month, or $76 billed yearly): 791 seconds of Gen-4.5; unused credits roll over for one month.

Pika publishes a per-generation cost instead. A 5-second 720p clip on Seedance 2.5 costs 122 credits, so Starter's 900 credits cover about 7 of them and Creator's 3,150 cover about 25. The same size clip on Wan 3.0 costs 33 credits, about 27 clips on Starter. Same plan, very different mileage depending on the model you pick. Remember that usable clips are fewer than total clips, because you will rerun prompts; Pika's own plan calculator pads estimates by 25% for retakes, which is a fair rule of thumb.

No affiliate links to any video generator in this article, because none of them pay us.

The tools, one at a time

Runway

What it is good at: breadth in one place. The pricing page says every paid plan has access to all of its AI video and image models, with Gen-4.5 and Gen-4 Turbo named in the credit math, plus partner models such as Kling 4.0 (the page advertises 25% off Kling 4.0 generations until November 30) and Seedance 2.5 on higher tiers. Paid plans also list music, voice and sound-effect generation.

What free gives you: 125 one-time credits and 5GB of storage. That is a taste, not a plan; at the Gen-4.5 rate on the Standard page, 125 credits would be roughly 10 seconds of video, but treat that as my arithmetic, not Runway's claim. The page does not say whether free outputs carry a watermark, only that paid plans have none. Assume yes until you test it.

Who should pay: Standard is the entry point for anyone who needs clean exports, with 4K upscaling listed. Pro adds unlimited 4K video upscaling, and Max adds HDR and ProRes output. If you want to upscale stills before animating them, my AI image upscaler comparison is the cheaper route. I did not find commercial-use terms on the pricing page, so read Runway's terms before client work.

Pika

What it is good at: being a cheap front door to many models. Its video menu lists Pika 2.5, Pikaframes, Seedance 2.5, MiniMax H3, Wan 3.0 and Gemini Omni 1.1 Flash, plus apps for product ads, motion transfer and swapping elements in a clip.

What free gives you: an account with all models listed as included, two parallel video generations, no watermark, and no monthly credits ("packs only"). Credit packs run $25 for 1,500 credits up to $200 for 12,000. In practice free means "you can open the tool"; to generate, you buy a pack or subscribe. It also has no commercial license on free.

Who should pay: Starter ($10, 900 credits) is the first plan with a commercial license. Creator ($35, 3,150 credits) raises parallel video generations from 2 to 8. Fancy starts at $95 and goes to $880 a month.

Google: Gemini Omni Flash (the Veo successor)

What it is good at: convenience if you already live in Gemini. Google's video page says Gemini Omni 1.1 Flash replaces Veo 3.1 in the Gemini app, makes 10-second videos with native audio, accepts up to five reference photos, and supports scene extension and video-to-video editing. Veo 3 still appears in Google Photos remix features in the US.

What free gives you: the page states a Google AI subscription is required, and I found no free video allowance. One exception: Google says college students can get a free Pro plan for one year. Every video carries an invisible SynthID watermark; I did not find a statement about a visible one.

Who should pay: AI Plus is $4.99/month with "limited access" to Omni Flash; AI Pro is $19.99 and AI Ultra tiers are $99.99 and $199.99, each with progressively higher limits. Google does not publish seconds-per-month, so I cannot compare it with Runway on cost per clip.

Sora: gone

Many older listicles still rank it. OpenAI's Sora 2 announcement page now opens with "As of April 26, 2026, the Sora product is no longer available." Skip any guide that still tells you to subscribe.

Kling and Luma: the gaps

I could not verify either, and I would rather say so than guess. Kling's membership page loaded, but its prices did not appear in what I could read (it is headlined "Kling 4.0" and Runway lists Kling 4.0 as a hosted model). Luma's pricing page replied "not available in your region" and its older domain returned a 403. I am not printing any price, limit or watermark rule for either. Check their pages yourself.

Free-tier reality

  • Free forever and genuinely usable: none of the tools I could verify. Pika is free to open but has zero monthly credits.
  • Trial-shaped: Runway's 125 credits are one-time. When they are gone, they are gone.
  • Subscription-gated: Gemini Omni Flash, which needs a Google AI plan.
  • Dead: Sora.

If a thumbnail or social clip needs captions after you export, use a free local transcription tool; I list the options in my free AI transcription guide.

Honest verdict

Pay for Runway if you want clean exports and a single editor, and use the credit table to check that 52 seconds a month is enough before committing. Pay for Pika Starter if your goal is to sample several models for about ten dollars. Use Google's plan if you were going to pay for it anyway, since Omni Flash comes with it. Test any free tier with one short clip before you build a plan around it, because the fine print (watermarks, commercial rights, credits) lives on the plan page, not the home page.

The limit of this advice: I did not render a single test clip, so I cannot tell you which model looks best. Judge quality on your own prompts using the cheapest tier.

Who it's NOT for

  • Anyone who needs a verified permanently free generator: I found none.
  • Anyone planning commercial work on a free plan; Pika's free plan explicitly excludes a commercial license, and Runway's pricing page does not state one.
  • Anyone who needs minutes of finished footage a month on the cheapest tier. 52 seconds of Gen-4.5 will disappear fast once you count retakes.
  • Anyone wanting Kling or Luma numbers from this post; I could not verify them.

Keep reading

Questions or corrections? Write to nandminc2020@gmail.com.

Top comments (0)