DEV Community

Cover image for I create my portfolio today, I want your reviews.
Abhay Prajapati
Abhay Prajapati

Posted on

I create my portfolio today, I want your reviews.

I have recently created my portfolio today, I want your views regarding aspects of

 design,
 UI,
 favicon,
 theming
 features and alot.
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

here it is have a look HomePage

abhvercel.png

Background Color

  • #1589F0 #000000 for background color Main theme color.
  • #111111 #111111 for background color secondary theme color.

Font/ Text Family:

Actullay, I haven't sorted any font, but I am using Inter from Google Fonts

Font Text Color

Here are list of colors I have used for text:
Text main color: - #ffffff #ffffff
Text secondary color: - #999999 #999999
Text for Links/Buttons: - #52a9ff #52a9ff

Do tell me about the way I have present it, also how's the tagline.

tagline: 19,who keeps think... creator of Open Source Apple Store API
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

does any things feels incomplete or missing? regarding my portfolio? share below.

Have a look a Favicon animating in your browser.

Image
some thing like this...

Reach me any where.

Twitter: @Abhayprajapati_
Github: @Abhayprajapati

thank you for reading

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR πŸ₯‡ • Edited

I'll try to check kinda deeply and point you the mistakes, regarding

Technical + QA + Accessibility + Design issues Review.

  • When you jump from the homepage to a different view, the navbar becomes smaller, which is weird and makes me think that you didn't re-use your navbar component.
  • The navbar isn't shown in blogs nor in about.
  • Blogs are shown in this home but not in blogs.
  • You've a little description that is shown in the home but not in the /about section.
  • You are not using next/Image to load your images, which leads to non-optimised images which does not have explicit width and height attributes.
  • Top left image should be in .webp format (better quality and compression than the current jpeg)
  • <ul> tags does contain tags other than <li> (which deals to invalid HTML), i.e. top right menu is an <ul> tag with <button> tags inside.
  • I'll add your name next to the photo as it's hard to find out that clicking there you can go back to this "home" view.
  • Links are made with <span> tags for any reason I can't figure out, remember that you can use next/Link with passhref and it's child should be an <a> tag
  • The cards should be clickable as well (not only the link), this makes it easier to browse, specially in smartphones.
  • The cards container should have a bit of padding. In mobile, cards don't seem cards as they are sticked to both left and right.
  • Using a color code such #f5f5f5 and #212121 as max/min color value, instead pure white/black reduces the visual fatigue while reading a site.
  • Github and Twitter icons are not an <a> tag (all links should be an <a> tag so crawlers (for SEO) and text readers (for accessibility) can identify them properly
  • I'll rather avoid the underline in links as the visual hint is enough with this blue color and the hover effect.
  • If you plan to render all the content in the home (which will probably be a good idea) I'll suggest to avoid adding menu items or convert them into anchor links instead.
  • This "XX hours ago" text is too dark (not enough contrast ratio)
  • <html> element does not have a [lang] attribute
  • Meta description is not present in the document.

See Lighthouse Report as well for insights on Core Web Vitals.

Hope it helps :)

Collapse
 
theabhayprajapati profile image
Abhay Prajapati

Thanks for so deep review, for today these are my task and goals, I finish them and let you know.

Your points are guidelines.
πŸ₯°

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Love the color scheme. Blues and blacks and grays are distinct and palatable. Seems like the margins are a little funky in places. Too tight in some places and wide in others.