DEV Community

Cover image for Week 5 of Coding Period in GSoC
Amanjot Singh
Amanjot Singh

Posted on

Week 5 of Coding Period in GSoC

On week 5, I was struggling with the CFS removal tasks. Let me tell you this dark week of the coding period.

From the week 4 blog, you must be aware of the task that was going on i.e CFS removal task. Let me recap, I started replacing the CFS dependency for file uploading with the new dependency https://github.com/ExentriqLtd/Meteor-CollectionFS and it contained a lot of breaking changes.

I got stuck on this task for a long time. It was already 10-12 days I was working on this thing but couldn't achieve what was supposed to achieve. I talked with my mentor about this issue as this was the first issue I got stuck in. It was not really that I got totally stuck, but with the amount of existing Meteor knowledge, I was having some troubles understanding the existing code and rewrite the new one.

I read a lot about backend this week and re-wrote backend code. No luck! it was taking a lot of time and the first evaluation was drawing near. So I had to move this task for later and started working on other tasks. There were some logical conflicts that were raised during I was writing the backend code. It was uploading the .g file and .obj file. In the code .g gets converted first. The existing code was a bit confusing and long, so it took a lot of time to figure out.

Now this task is going on side by side. After I talked with my mentor about this task, I decided that I will now do this task alongside other tasks.

Top comments (0)