DEV Community

TheCodeGoddess
TheCodeGoddess

Posted on

Nevertheless, TheCodeGoddess Coded

I began coding because...

I was a huge fan of the show Buffy the Vampire Slayer and I wanted to create a fan site. I found myself writing HTML in my notebook in between classes in college. One day some said to me "You know that's a job" and my life was changed.

I'm currently hacking on...

Tons of unfinished projects. I am always starting something, then I get side tracked by something new. Sometimes, it's just the tons of Codepens that I created just to play around with some cool new CSS trick. My computer is filled with local git repos of cool things I had every intention of finishing.

I'm excited about...

I've decided that I want to build something in React Native. As soon as I come up with an idea, I can't wait to get started and see something I've built working as an app on my phone!

My advice for other women who code is...

Imposter Syndrome is a really thing that happens in our industry and someone recently shared something with me that changed my outlook on things. When you find yourself saying the words "I can't" or "I don't understand" tack on the word "yet". Example:

"I don't understand how ES6 generators work... yet".

"I can't figure out how this is working... yet".

It will change how you see yourself and help you to remember that coding is about constantly learning and growing.

Top comments (0)