DEV Community

Cover image for How To Stay Fit Physically And Mentally And Keep Coding
Karl Esi
Karl Esi

Posted on

How To Stay Fit Physically And Mentally And Keep Coding

Programming is a physically demanding activity.

I know that you think all you have to do is just sit down in a chair and it should be easy.

But, it is not quite like that.

In fact, if you were to just sit in your chair the whole time, your body will deteriorate so fast you would become a slouch, your back would become hunched over, your body would deteriorate into the shape of the chair.

You will become incredibly unattractive, your eyes will dry out from staring at the computer screen so long.

Your skin is not going to get enough sunshine such that it is going to become all pale and pasty.

And as you get deeper into programming, you start moving into the basement, into buildings without windows.

It just gets darker and darker for you until you eventually become like a Wendigo.

So, you need to understand that good exercise and good sleep are essential for any programmer.

And this is something that I make sure I get for myself.

Everyday, if I were to go program for a long period of time, I am going to make sure that I get my exercise in as well.

And I also have a very good sleep routine.

Also read: A telltale Sign of An Inexperienced Programmer

Not only that, I make sure that when I sit down, I sit with my back straight such that I have a good posture.

Because it is pretty funny. If you were to go to some of these tech companies, you will see a bunch of programmers.

They look really weird.

Their backs are all hunched over, their necks have elongated, as they are peering deeper and deeper into that computer screen.

And their gaze, their eyes just seem to glaze over all the time.

I take a break every 30 minutes.

And I also drink a ton of fluids such that my eyes don't get too dry and I think overall people just need to drink a lot of fluids in general.

For my lunch breaks, I go out and I make sure I get some sunshine on my skin.

You know, these are all good habits that you need to build up as a programmer, to protect your physical body.

It is kind of like a sports star. Sports stars have to go to the gym, hone their bodies, build their muscles, make it perfect for their game.

And it is no different from programmers.

Except programmers are kind of on the opposite end of the scale where their bodies are deteriorating completely with, and almost falling apart, destroyed into the shape of a chair.

And then they just have to protect their bodies and mold it back into a normal baseline so that they don't have to appear too weird.

Rooting for you,

Karl ⛹️

P.S. I'm happy with the reviews. Guys coming from here to buy, thank you. I need only 20 more to close this intake by today midnight. Join here now.

Top comments (0)