DEV Community

Sarah Dye
Sarah Dye

Posted on • Updated on

First 10 Days of Round Two

Summer has officially started. I decided to do the 100 Days of Code challenge. The challenge was created by Alexander Kallaway.

Kallaway is a developer at Pilot Interactive and a community leader of the freeCodeCamp Toronto. He has been featured on several coding podcasts and has written about the challenge on freeCodeCamp's Medium account in 2016. 100 Days of Code is quite popular in the tech community with many developers tracking the progress they make on Twitter using the #100DaysofCode hashtag.

I first heard about the 100 Days of Code Challenge on Twitter. A lot of the CodeNewbie members were doing 100 Days of Code and tweeting their progress during weekly chats. Some of the members were doing the challenge together at the beginning of 2017 following Kallaway's appearance on the CodeNewbie podcast.

If you would like to see what others have been tweeting about the challenge, head over to #100DaysofCode on Twitter to see what others have been doing. I did round one of 100 Days of Code in 2017. I started the challenge in August 2017.

I used the challenge as an opportunity to work on other coding challenges I signed up for and have been saving in my inbox. I finished the first round near the end of November before Thanksgiving. I used the log file in the forked Github repo I made to track my progress during the challenge. The log can be found on the round1 branch of this Github repo in my Github account.

==> Click here to learn more about the 100 Days of Code Challenge!
==> Click here to read the original 100 Days of Code Challenge post on freeCodeCamp's new site!

I started round two on June 1. I have two goals I want to accomplish with this round of the challenge. First, I want to update my portfolio site.

I've been looking for front-end web developer jobs and wanted to update my portfolio site to help me accomplish this goal as well as reflect on what I can do as a front-end web developer. Second, I want to use this challenge as a way to get more practice with JavaScript. I'm planning on using the rest of the challenge to add JavaScript projects to my portfolio.

As of today's post, I've completed 11 days of the challenge. You can see my progress on my Twitter profile or look at the log on my forked Github repo. I have created a round2 branch on the repo and have been merging everything from this branch onto the master.

I'm also using this blog to post my progress on the challenge. Today's post is looking at the first 10 days of the challenge.

Day 1: June 1, 2019

I created two shooting stars in Khan Academy Project Shooting Star. I tried to do some JavaScript animations today. The biggest issue was trying to get the stars to go in different directions.

Most of the time the stars just wanted to go in the same direction. I revisited the previous lessons and made several attempts at tweaking the xPos and yPos for the different stars to get them to go in different directions. I revisited my portfolio site and started removing some of the div tags in my code for the full-width, half-width, and third-width.

I made some tweaks to the head tag such as the Google fonts link and style tags. I created an assets folder to move my style sheets and images to live in for the project. I wasn't quite sure how to tackle the portfolio site so I needed to wireframe my website before I tackled more code.

Day 2: June 2, 2019

I made an animal in the Khan Academy Resizing Variables lessons. I create animals with more JS animations. I did more practice with JavaScript animations today.

I found I was repeating code a lot often as I was putting together the animals so I went back over my code and changed variables for any code I was going to repeat. I did a little bit better job with the animations today. Originally the code in my animations was moving to the right side of the screen instead of staying in place, but I played around with the variables and numbers for the X and Y for the ellipse to keep everything in place.

I added div tags to the portfolio website. I started making tweaks to my portfolio website. I'm debating on adding more pages to my website and some JavaScript.

I'm not sure what JavaScript to add to my website though. For now, I'm going to see if I can focus on getting the HTML the way I'd like before I make bigger changes.

Day 3: June 3, 2019

I create a fictional advertisement for the Khan Academy project Ad Design. This project didn't have a lot of JS animations but I did add animation as a bonus to the project to get more practice. I had an easier time getting the eyeSize variable to animate in this project.

Although the mouth is still visible when the animation for the eyes is working, I am pretty proud that I was able to get the eyes animated today. The ad itself was kept very simple so I could practice using text(), draw(), and textSize().

I spend a lot of my time adjusting the x, y, w, and h when I add shapes or text. I added two pages to my portfolio site. I updated the index.html code for the home page.

I spent the last 30 minutes working on my portfolio site. I did the wireframe the night before so I'm updating the HTML code. I created two new folders for the new pages of my portfolio website and started adding code to the about page.

I managed to get the navigation on the about page working. The styles are a mess, but I'll change the styles once I get all the HTML done for all three pages.

Day 4: June 4, 2019

I made fishes for Khan Academy Project Fish Tank. Khan Academy outlines specific steps for students to do in this project, but I spent most of my time making the fish. Refactoring the code was quite easy and I got a better sense of how parameters work in JS functions this way.

The only issue was getting the fish to be different colors. Initially, they were all turning white when I called the drawFish function. I eventually commented out the starter code Khan Academy provided including the variables and changed the fill() to color instead of bodyColor.

I eventually realized when I was calling the function, I was using "purple" instead of color(). Once I used color() and changed the RGB values, the fishes started to change colors.

I added the rest of the HTML for my About and Portfolio pages. I added the rest of the sections on these pages. I had to change the navigation on the pages so no errors popped up when trying to move from one page to another.

I tested each page locally to see if there were any errors. I'm going to start playing with the CSS tomorrow. I created a main.css file for all the base styles. This way I don't repeat the same code all on the style sheets.

Day 5: June 5, 2019

I made all the if-else statements for the magic 8 ball. Most of my time was spent playing around with the position of the text in the Magic 8 ball. I was having a hard time getting the words centered the way I wanted in the triangle.

I did start over this project twice because I was playing around with the > or < operators first then tried using the === to do each of the individual numbers. Originally I was planning on working on my portfolio website but I got an e-mail with some security vulnerabilities on a few of my repositories. So I used the time to do some googling to see how to fix them with the Github documentation and help.

Day 6: June 6, 2019

I made a house in Khan Academy's Build a House project. The house project was a bit tougher than I had planned. I spent a lot of time trying to figure out how to get the windows to repeat on the house.

I tried using a variable at first, but that wasn't working. I realized the fill() and rect() need to be inside the for loop, but I wasn't sure how to get them to repeat on the site. I figured I had to use the i somewhere in the rect() but I wasn't 100% sure if this was the right way of thinking.

I did some googling and found some videos of people doing the same project. One of the videos was using the same method I was thinking about using. I was planning on making grass, but I spent a lot of time trying to get the triangles to look the exact shape I wanted.

So I just used two rect() to make bushes instead. I started to work on the CSS for my portfolio. I was going to use the fourth stylesheet for the base styles but I decided it might get too confusing so I deleted the main.css file.

I did start making some changes to the mobile.css and have some of the styles added to the home page. I spent a lot of time trying to get my Google Fonts to work. I planned on playing with the images on the mobile site to see if I could find the right size for them or find a position for them.

Day 7: June 7, 2019

I created raindrops for the Khan Academy project Make it Rain. This has been the toughest JS project I've done for Khan Academy. Making the arrays for the rain droplets was easy.

However, I wasn't sure how to go about getting the raindrops to get back to the top. After trying different for loops, I searched YouTube to see what other devs have done. Amy Prosser's tutorials helped quite a lot.

After using her tips, I played around with the code a bit to see how different numbers in the array worked and tried to see if I could get the raindrops to change color. I added more CSS styles to the home and about pages. I played with the image sizes on the home page as best as I could, but I decided to make things bigger than I planned so they stood out on a mobile screen.

The padding for the social media icons wasn't working very well. The padding made the icons move onto another row or go too far over to the left even when I tried to make spaces between them. I decided to just leave them the way they are for now. I just need to make some final tweaks to the about page's mobile CSS then I'm going to tackle the portfolio page next.

Day 8: June 8, 2019

I made three books on a bookshelf for the Khan Academy project Bookshelf. This was a good exercise to get practice with JS objects. Making the objects was easy.

However, I had trouble getting the books to appear on the bookshelf. After spending some time playing with the for loop, I did some googling and used another Amy Prosser video to see what I was doing wrong. It turns out that I wasn't using the variables I made correctly.

I needed to add them to the x and y positions and then multiply them by 100 to get them to appear on the shelf and get the stars to appear. I tried changing the colors of the books, but I didn't have much luck since I kept getting errors trying to use the fill(). So I decided to just skip the color property for the books.

I added the remaining CSS styles for the About page. I added h3 tags on the portfolio page for projects and changed the p tags into ul tags for projects. Most of the time was spent on getting the mobile CSS done.

I removed the CSS flexbox and checked everything in Dev Tools. So far everything is working fine without it. I started updating the responsive CSS for the home page. Right now the headers are not appearing on the page so I'll play with it more tomorrow and see if I can get it to appear on my site.

Day 9: June 9, 2019

I made some small changes to the mobile style sheet so I wasn't repeating a lot of code. Most of the time was spent on updating my portfolio's responsive style sheet. I can't get the navigation to look quite like I was planning so I visited my current portfolio site and realized I faced similar issues with the current version.

After several minutes of playing with the CSS, I decided to leave the navigation the way it was and try to update the rest of the styles for the site. So far responsive site preview I'm seeing in dev tools is looking quite similar to what I'm seeing on the mobile version of my website. I might play with the font sizes to see if I can make things bigger for the tablet version.

I started to work on the styles for the desktop version of my website. My career compass section was indented when I added the padding to the navigation. I tried playing around with the padding, but it remained indented. I finally changed the height size of the header and everything moved into the right place.

Day 10: June 10, 2019

I'm not happy with the font size on my portfolio site. I might play around with the font sizes once I get all the pages updated. Many of the elements are floating in the wrong places so I changed some of the heights of sections which resolved the problem.

This isn't the case with the portfolio page. One of the projects is still floating in the wrong place despite these changes. I changed some of the div tags to see if the names were correct but things didn't improve.

I eventually found a solution by creating separate full-width div tags for each project. I also created a project class for the div tags to change the height and bottom padding for each project. I played around with the font sizes for the mobile CSS. I'm going to play around with the font sizes late for the responsive and desktop CSS style sheets.

Conclusion

The first ten days of 100 Days of Code are done! I'm planning on publishing summaries like this very often during the 100 Days of Code challenge in sets of ten. Are you doing the 100 Days of Code Challenge? If you are doing the challenge, share your progress below in the comments.

This post was originally published on June 12, 2019 on the blog BritishPandaChick Codes. I made minor changes to the original post to work here on DEV.

Top comments (0)