DEV Community

Fabian Anguiano
Fabian Anguiano

Posted on

A review of "Django for Beginners". Finally someone gets it.

Stop me if this sounds familiar. You find an exciting new framework or piece of tech. You go the documentation like a good little dev. And the tutorial is as follows. Image description

Before I get into my review let me lay out the most common issues I have run into.

  • A tutorial written or a video, starts off easy enough and then in the next sentence they are talking about setting up this simple microservice and connecting a database which they will skip because "it should be pretty self explanatory". Oh what is that ? You are using the latest package and the syntax/set up has changed? Sucks for you.

  • On the opposite end of the spectrum, tutorials can go on and on covering the same concept without nailing the general point. After explaining to a friend what loops are, he asked me why the video course insisted on using complicated jargon and useless examples.

I have worked as dev professionally now for close to 4 years and wanted to pick up something new. I was very comfortable with python and flask, and kept hearing Django should be my next move. After a few tries at the documentation something just didn't click and I abandoned it. We only have so many hours in the day and I couldn't afford to spend hours on a resource that wasn't clicking for me. So I dropped Django, flask works fine.

Enter: Django for Beginners

Image description

Something didn't feel right, I kept reading raving reviews about Django. I did some more research.

Quite frankly, this is the best resource on programming that I have ever laid my eyes upon. I am not exaggerating. As a self thought/bootcamp dev I own/have owned the following.

  • 98 udemy courses
  • an assortment of random ebooks I purchased from twitter
  • 27 programming books
  • a subscription for datacamp,codeacadmy,teamtree house

Why is it so good?

Image description

( I highly recommend this course https://www.coursera.org/learn/learning-how-to-learn)

To put it simply, rather than following the owl meme the books goes as such.

  1. Concept
  2. Working examples of the concept
  3. Using concepts to build upon each other.
  4. Progressive resistance.

The book has 5 projects and each one increases in difficulty. Will explains concepts in a way that they should be, and doesn't make assumptions about your knowledge. And he even has a github with updates as recent as two weeks ago for the latest version of Djnago.

https://djangoforbeginners.com/

The price is only $40 but I can assure it is worth much more.

Top comments (0)