DEV Community

Cover image for Improve the accessibility of your website
Thomas Bnt ☕
Thomas Bnt ☕

Posted on • Updated on

Improve the accessibility of your website

How its started

A few weeks ago, during my training to get the web developer diploma. I had to work on accessibility on the Internet. ♿

Being buddy with the W3C and all the tools that are necessary to make the website accessible by anyone.

So I read up, and downloaded tools like Wave, headingsMap, Colorblindly.

That, by the way, you can find the Wave extension on the banner of this article. 😄

The problem

When I did tests on my personal website, a lot of issues regarding contrast in text and colors. Undefined link icons with aria-label, errors regarding the title level being skipped. Anyway, it was not good. So I improved it by fixing all these problems.

Fixing concerns with the right tools

To determine where I had problems, most of the time I used Wave, a free extension available everywhere that scans your page and shows you the errors.

Preview of the Wave extension

I also use other extensions that I mentioned above. And some websites to test the efficiency of the speed and rendering of the page.

And some GOOD stuffs :

In some statistics

In 2020, WebAIM analyzed one million home pages for accessibility issues

Update your website to make it more accessible 🚀

Check my Twitter account. You can see many projects and updates. You can also support me on Buy Me a Coffee, Stripe or GitHub Sponsors. Thanks for read my post ! 🤩

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

It was nice to see the improvements keep it up!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Thanks, Andrew! 😄

Yeah for all my projects, now I pay more attention to accessibility. I know that it is important for those who have concerns about disabilities, I put myself in their position. 💪🏼

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Good to know I hope everybody starts to do the same.

Collapse
 
stormytalent profile image
StormyTalent

Really interesting.
Thanks for sharing!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Thanks you ! ☕😄