DEV Community

Jonathan Hall
Jonathan Hall

Posted on • Originally published at jhall.io on

Reader question: "What do you do for interview prep?"

I was just asked: “What do you do for interview prep?”

I think this is a great question. Although what I do for interview prep is likely different than what you should do for interview prep, since we’re likely in different stages of our careers.

  1. Read up on the company. Don’t spend too long. 10 or 15 minutes is enough. visit their web site. Understand their core business. If you can’t determine their core business that’s okay, and it makes for a great question during the interview! (This has happened to me, with early-stage stealth startups)
  2. Know your deal-breakers. If there are any absolute deal-breakers for you, know them, and ask about them in the first interview if possible. Not willing to relocate? Need a 4-day schedule? Do you demand a conference budget? Do you require an in-office masseuse? Ask about these things.
  3. Have a list of standard questions prepared. Everyone’s list will be different. Some common ones I ask: What tech stack does the company use? How do you handle deployments? What project management or agile methodology do you use, if any? What’s the main reason I should not work here?

Notably, one thing I don’t do is spend time writing practice code, or “cramming” for a technical interview. Personally, I’ve never felt a need to do so. Second, I don’t think it’s helpful (or especially honest). I want the interviewer to get an honest impression of who I am and what I know. I feel like “cramming” is designed to give a false impression.

Most important: Remember that you’re interviewing the company, too! Ask anything that could help answer the question “Do I want to work here?"


If you enjoyed this message, subscribe to The Daily Commit to get future messages to your inbox.

Top comments (0)