DEV Community

Tolu Kalejaiye
Tolu Kalejaiye

Posted on

Should the ecommerce layer be separated from the CMS?

Hey guys, got another question. So I'm trying to decide what tools I'm going to use in building an ecommerce site for a client. Currently I've decided to build it using Gatsby.js and Shopify for product creation/inventory and all the ecommerce stuff. I also plan on using Netlify CMS for content management on the site(blog posts, location info etc.)

I had initially wanted to use Netlify CMS to handle the product creation as well, but I couldn't figure out how to do that and incorporate inventory management. I would be able to create the products through the CMS sure, but how would I update the product count if items get bought or it goes out of stock? I read a tutorial on Contentful where they use Contentful for product creation and Commerce Layer for inventory management. The app then makes api calls to Commerce Layer to update product counts. Is this a normal pattern or is it preferred/easier to just manage product creation and inventory management in the same place?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
joshualjohnson profile image
Joshua Johnson

I think the right answer here is to build a view assembly service that will take the logic of your Commerce solution and apply the CMS objects on top of that.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.