DEV Community

tomasszz
tomasszz

Posted on

vscode freezing on linux mint

Hi everyone. I've been fighting with VSCode for almost two weeks now.
I'm on Linux Mint 20.2 (update from 20.1 3 days ago) with Cinamon.

VSC keeps freezing my whole system randomly while working.
I have 4 ext. installed:

  1. FiveServer
  2. Pretier
  3. Aura Theme
  4. Tabnine (free) I've tried working with and without extensions, with the same result. I've even tried to run VSC from console with --disable-gpu attr.

Freezing is random. Sometimes while typing, sometimes when switching windows between VSC and FF.
Once it works fine thru out whole day, and crushes when hit backspace while editing :/

First thought there is a problem with FF but then it froze wit only VSC lunched :/
I even switched Motherboard and RAM thinking it's a hardware issue after dropping my laptop some time a go.

Does anyone had the same problem?

I really liked working with VSC.
I've tried Atom as a replacement, but not like it so much.
WEBSTORM is cool but it's overkill for me for now.

Top comments (0)