DEV Community

Tonia Roddick
Tonia Roddick

Posted on

Nevertheless, Tonia from US Geological Survey Coded

I began coding because...

I love solving problems. I love the challenge and reward of it. I've always had a keen eye for detail and subtle differences. I find coding is a great creative outlet and allows me to strengthen my focus.

I'm currently hacking on...

A web application that supports USGS event-based sensor deployments and High-Water Mark data collection efforts. I am a full-stack developer on the project, working on the database, the REST services as well as the login-based web application.

I'm excited about...

What the next thing will be. The next project coming my way, or the next new language to learn. I love that my job is never boring, that I must continue to learn new things to stay on top of my game.

My advice for other women who code is...

Never give up. When I first started, I was overwhelmed by my lack of knowledge. It was humbling, but I kept going and kept learning and kept trying. The challenge of getting over that learning curve fueled me (and continues to fuel me) and the rewards are well worth it.

Top comments (0)