DEV Community

Cover image for VS Code Stories - New Extension
Tuomo Kankaanpää
Tuomo Kankaanpää

Posted on • Originally published at codepulse.blog

VS Code Stories - New Extension

Do you ever just wake up in the morning, open up VS Code, and think to yourself "Wow I wonder what other coders are doing around the world, what are they coding on?".

That's how Ben Awad starts his video where he introduces VS Code stories, an extension for Visual Studio Code which adds stories to VS Code.

vs code stories in action

He literally created an extension for VS Code that you can use to view Instagram like stories and upload your own ones for others to see. I think this was just hilarious and at the same time super awesome!

If you haven't already, be sure to check out the extension and his video introducing the extension, it is hilarious! All the code for the extension is open source.

That's all for now, I just wanted to share this with you guys because I think this was super funny and worth showcasing extension.

Comment below what do you think about the stories for VS Code?

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
sirajkakeh profile image
Siraj Kakeh

Just.... no

Collapse
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald

Odd. I'm not sure how I feel about this, but I'll be curious to see if it takes off.

Collapse
 
thefern profile image
Fernando B 🚀

I think it will, he got over 6K downloads in one day. Just need to figure out how to select your friends, moderate nsfw gifs, make sure users are not dupes, and a few other mvp items. Everything being wide open is dangerous.

Collapse
 
fishermedders profile image
Fisher

perhaps for duplicates he could go with the scheme dupeuser-shortuuidstring as their identifier and a custom name to select. Haven't downloaded it yet, but it looks very interesting.

Thread Thread
 
thefern profile image
Fernando B 🚀

I think is server has been shutdown temporarily due to all the nsfw abuse, but I agree is very cool to share a little bit of code.

Thread Thread
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald

He said he brought it back up with new filters in place.

Collapse
 
khobalt profile image
Lee Dydo

I like it.

Collapse
 
shubhamverma profile image
Shubham Verma

I saw this on his Twitter, downloaded right away!