DEV Community

Cover image for Interviews Hell Ride🌡️
Tushar Kandpal
Tushar Kandpal

Posted on • Updated on

Interviews Hell Ride🌡️

I started my web development journey around March, 2020 and it's April, 2021 now. I'm gonna summarize about my interview experiences and lessons during this one year.

Phase 1

Before beginning I would like to tell that I'm from Electrical Engineering branch, pass-out batch 2020 (Yes! 2020).

In parallel to learning and growing my skills, I was also applying for countless companies.

The platforms I used for my job search (or you can say I had my profile active on) are listed below:

  • Naukri
  • Glassdoor
  • AngelList
  • LinkedIn
  • Hirist
  • Cutshort
  • Constantly applying on various company/Carrers page
  • Many more... (WHAT NOT!!!)

Mostly, all went to no use and I used to end up with either no responses, crazy interviews, or feeling more low.

I'm not at all saying this is the ultimate truth of all platforms, there are many who get their first job using these. All I'm saying is it didn't work out for me.

I kept on making projects & pushed them on GitHub & on the other side, continued getting rejected.

Phase 2

Till now, I was frustrated so I changed my strategy as follows:

  • Sticking to Front End Developer and Software Engineer (Java) roles.
  • Trying to talk one-to-one with HRs, well established people in the same fields, and other mentors.

Sadly, it didn't worked out either.

2020 was already a mess, and all these rejections made it even more glorious.!! LOL

I continued learning ReactJS as well.

Phase 3

Came 2021, I moved to a new place to explore more opportunities out there in the world. I was ready to give it all.

After few weeks of struggle, cleared online test for 3 major MNCs, passed their technical and HR rounds & then waited around a month for results.

You would say that everything is gonna be fine now. Nope, not at all. Got rejected by the first company after conducting 5 different rounds in a span of 3 weeks. Whatever the hope was left, died with it. I felt very depressed.

But after a while, came offer letter from third company and then second company too, when I least expect it. It was all so sudden & unbelievable.

Out of all the things I tried, at last, things fell into place when they had to, obviously, consistent efforts are must.


You will say, what's the moral of the story, so here it is:

  • Don't rely on one company: Just give interviews with your best efforts & 0 expectations in return. Until & unless you get a offer letter & decide to go ahead with it.

  • Job is not everything: By this, I didn't mean to completely ignore it. But to not stress about it a lot.

  • Explore your interests: Keep on exploring & trying out new things. Experience of different paths helps you in making better decision for your future.

YOU WILL SURELY GET THERE!!
IF NOT TODAY ?! THEN DEFINITELY TOMORROW 💯

Do tell what were your interview experiences as a fresher ?

Top comments (0)