DEV Community

Uddeshya Singh
Uddeshya Singh

Posted on

Weird rants of a new Devops + Backend engineer 😤 [22 June 21]

Welcome to the weird notes of a new DevOps and Backend engineer. This is my (quite open) notebook on what was all the stuff I read and learnt. Not necessarily tech, you can just read on and understand what I am rambling on about.

[22 June 2021]

Stuff I learnt 📝

  • Opentelemetry logs are painful as fuck. Nothing official in terms of documentation :) I swear to god I feel I will find a good implementation and I will DOCUMENT IT FFS.
  • The other night I jotted down a blogpost for traces + opentelemetry + sentry. I hope folks would love it. Golang, Opentelemetry, and Sentry — The Underrated Distributed Tracing Stack
  • Also, fluentd ---> OTEL Collector integration? YOU ARE PAINFUL :) Idk what kubernetes service guide I need to revisit because I am sure af not getting anywhere in this respect.

Stuff I need to check out tomorrow? 📅

  • Get done with one more exam.
  • Setup the log system locally and see if it works.
  • Upload the rules files.

Stuff I want to work some day in future. 🔭

  • Go through the exporter fix PR in the weekend maybe. Or if time allows tomorrow.

Thanks for listening to the rant.
Uddeshya Singh,
Signing off.

Top comments (0)