DEV Community

Cover image for Why You haven't landed the Tech Job yet!
Engr. Promise
Engr. Promise

Posted on

Why You haven't landed the Tech Job yet!

can land a tech job

This post is for you if you are just starting out in tech or if you have already begun but haven't landed your first job yet. I was ecstatic when I wrote my first lines of code. I had the idea that I could completely remake the cosmos with just a few lines of code. I've always wanted to have an impact on my community, so discovering how to instruct the computer on what to do, when to do it, and exactly how to do it made me extremely happy.

Seek Mentors

I had the foresight to ask knowledgeable computer experts for advice on which aspects of tech would best suit and appeal to my spirit. After much consideration and researching, I ultimately decided to pursue a career in full stack development, which I did after completing a three-month comprehensive course in UI/UX design. I got off to a good start by looking for and finding a mentor. He explained what it took to become a Fullstack Developer; nevertheless, he did not provide me with enough information to secure my first position.

Learn and Keep Learning.

starting as a junior developer
After dedicating myself to intense personal study and development for almost five months (with only four hours of sleep each day), I felt confident using HTML, CSS, and JavaScript and that I could defy the laws of physics. I had completed 100 hours of Udemy coursework and over 1,000 hours of YouTube videos, and I felt like the King of the North getting ready to sit on the Iron throne made of a thousand blades of algorithms and Data Structures, which I had never been told about.

Stay Positive While learning.

I started applying for tech jobs in front-end development right away, but I was told I wasn't qualified because the position required someone with React experience. I subsequently enrolled in a ReactJS course to further improve my chances of landing the dream position, only to hear that I still needed to learn how to use GitHub and git.
As time went on, I continued to receive rejection emails based on the fact that I lacked other essential abilities. Because I was so concerned, I had to talk to my mentor about it. Before I reveal the answer to your question regarding what happened to the throne of a thousand blades of algorithms and data structures, there is something you should know.

Let's get back on track. Disgusted, defeated, and on the verge of giving up, I made the decision to go meet my mentor to find out why finding a job seemed to be tougher for me than it had been for him. Was he lying to me? Will $5,000 per month ever be mine?

Easy way Out! Join Microverse.

The discussion with my mentor was very different this time. He informed me that although I had a basic understanding of the necessary tools, I still needed to learn about industry standards, which I might only do so through working in the tech industry because numerous YouTube videos could never teach you that. He basically introduced me to Microverse on that crucial day.

Microverse
Microverse provides a full-time remote web development bootcamp to help graduates prepare for careers in technology. This program emphasizes pair programming and real-time collaboration with students, simulating workplace team dynamics.
Microverse provides each student with an accountability partner and a global support network. Students learn technical skills like JavaScript and HTML and soft skills like cross-cultural communication and remote work best practices.
Microverse full-time web development bootcamp helps students learn practical skills in coding and full-stack development. The program also provides career support services that cover job search skills, interviewing, and resume building.

Learn Algorithm and Data Structures

That day, I returned home and applied for the Microverse program. Since then, Microverse has been the best decision I've ever made in terms of getting into tech.
Learning and solving Algorithms and Data Structures was one of the weekly core activities at Microverse. When I first heard about Algorithms and Data Structures , I was skeptical about why I should try to understand it. Building websites or web applications should not rely solely on my understanding of algorithms and data structures (a misconception I am yet to forgive myself for ). I simply took it for granted and I paid dearly for it.

Build a Great Resume and a good Social Media Presence.

I had already written a good resume by the time I finished the third module of the Microverse curriculum, so I decided to try my luck by applying for jobs on LinkedIn. At this point, I knew I'd improved far beyond my wildest expectations.
I received an email a few days ago with a link to a test for the role I had previously applied for. The test would last for 24 hours. I saw this as an opportunity to land my first job, so I jumped in to take the test without adequate preparation, only to run into algorithms and data structures. The test came with instructions that prevented me from switching browser tabs. I knew exactly what that meant because I once wrote an application that tracks when a user leaves and returns to a browser tab. There was no assistance from KingsLanding (Google) or Dragon Stone (Stack overflow). I did the best I could with what I was knew. I was only able to eventually finish four of the six activities. Algorithms and data structures humble me. At that point, I had figured out what I had been missing all this time. I want to take my algorithm and data structure courses seriously at Microverse.

Land your first Job as a developer
This was the missing link that has kept many junior and mid-level developers from getting a job. Nobody is going to tell you about it. This is why you will never be able to sit on the Iron Throne.
There are hundreds of resources available to help you learn algorithms and data structures. To begin, you must master the art of problem solving. I urge you to continue working on your data structures and algorithms. Join platforms such as coderbyte, leetcode, and hackerrank. Solve as many as you can as they are building blocks for becoming a better developer.

If you really want to pass coding interviews and land your first job, then you should spend a good amount of time working on data structures and algorithms. It won't only help you ace interviews but it will also make you a better software developer.
I have taken my time to prepare this list of resources to help you get started with data structures and algorithms.

See you at the top.

Top comments (0)