DEV Community

Cover image for 3 times Top #5 on ProductHunt & what I did on PH launch day
Upen
Upen

Posted on

3 times Top #5 on ProductHunt & what I did on PH launch day

I know there are many guides on how to launch on ProductHunt. I am not writing another one but here is small timeline on how it went throughout the day and a few things I have done to keep trending on Top#5.

Launched Micro SaaS Ideas on Thursday. Usually I do my launches on Thursdays as Wednesdays are too heavy with big players.

Couple of days priory to the launch, I made 2-3 Tweets like this to let everyone know I am launching on PH.
https://twitter.com/upen946/status/1551627101387849730

Casual timeline:

  • Scheduled launch for 12:01 AM PST. Most of the images are created from Canva.
  • Changed my Twitter profile to this to get more upvotes. Looks like this has some impact though it's tough to measure direct impact.
  • Made Twitter post about the launch here
  • DMed 20 people who I know from Twitter (in the first 20minutes)
  • After 1 hour, I was hanging between #4, #5, #6 places.
  • 3 hours after launch, Took the screenshots of the stats and posted thrice on my Twitter just to show that the product is trending. This drove a few more votes.
  • Made a post on IH here
  • 8 hours after the launch, Added the PH launch link in my weekly newsletter (Earlier, I used to send explicit email that its a launch day but now I just added a link at the top of the newsletter as a casual link)
  • 12 hours after the launch, made one more Twitter post with stats like this
  • 13 hours after the launch, pinged another 20 people from my Twitter and notified about the launch. Just to be on safe side to be in Top#5.
  • 14 hours after the launch, I stayed at #4 and was confident that it will land in Top#5.
  • 2 hours before the close, I moved to #5.

Some pointers:

  • Every vote counts.
  • Early votes will improve your chances to keep you in top.
  • Have atleast 10-15 people you can count on to upvote/comment.
  • Ask more questions (I haven't done that much though) in the comments to drive more conversations.

Here is the ProductHunt launch page
You can follow me here on Twitter

Top comments (0)