DEV Community

usman03777
usman03777

Posted on

I need a mentor.

I am 18 and I want a mentor which can help me in learning programming languages for purposes.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
pclundaahl profile image
Patrick Charles-Lundaahl

I would recommend refining your pitch a bit. Mentorship might benefit you, but it directly costs your mentor time - they're going to want to know that you're worth it.

A one-sentence paragraph looks lazy and doesn't tell anyone much. Maybe consider adding some of the following:

  • A bit more about yourself (obviously don't dox yourself or anything)
  • What programming-relates topics have you studied so far, and how have you gone about studying them?
  • What's something that demonstrates your commitment, perseverance, or work ethic? You only get out of a mentorship what you put in.
  • What are these "purposes"?

My two cents

Collapse
 
mccurcio profile image
Matt Curcio

I agree with Patrick to an extent.

I would actually recommend that you follow this site for a while. Shite, Dev.to has a million and one mentors here, if you ask the right questions. Start small. Let's hear what you are learning. Let's hear where you have troubles. Let's hear what you hate...

Learn to use Google too! I bet Someone, Somewhere has asked the same question AND 'It is OUT-there!'

THEN find other blogs or Youtube channels that you like. Post your questions there too.

To me, being intelligent is showing you can imagine different possibilities when you need to, then share those thoughts later ;))

Collapse
 
mccurcio profile image
Matt Curcio

Hi usman,
If you have a question. You can ask me here too! ;)