DEV Community

Cover image for Mental Health Pixel - Manage Anxiety
Valentin Prugnaud ๐ŸฆŠ
Valentin Prugnaud ๐ŸฆŠ

Posted on • Updated on

Mental Health Pixel - Manage Anxiety

Anxiety is common when working in tech. Here a few tips I use every day to manage anxiety at work.

1 - Get away from your computer

Alt Text

Every time I get stuck with a task at work, anxiety can build up: will I hit the deadline? What will my boss think of my performance? Will my co-worker make fun of me for struggling?

The best way I found for myself to relax and get my focus back it either going for a walk around the block or go in the kitchen to fill my water bottle, take the time to drink it all there, fill it again and go back to my desk.

2 - Stretch

Alt Text

Most of us working in tech are sitting all day. Recently I have been experiencing issues with my lower back, it was hurting E-VE-RY day. I did consult a physiotherapist to get some immediate help, but the other things that helped me a lot were: investing in a good quality sit/stand desk, workout 3 times a week and stretch frequentlyโ€ฆ. A LOT!

3 - Take a breath

Alt Text

When in the thick of it, it easy to spiral and get overwhelmed. I purchased an Apple Watch last year and set up reminders on it to take deep breaths with its Breathe feature. Every time I am getting overwhelmed, I set my Breathe app to 1 or 2 minutes, close my eyes and focus on the vibrations on my wrist to guide my breathing.

4 - Call a friend or family member

Alt Text

Stay in contact during the day with your friends and family. You can also call them during your break, whether to share your anxiety with them or just catch up.

I regularly communicate with my girlfriend, family, and friends during the day, to help me wind down. The added benefit is that your partner, friend or family member can benefit from that conversation too.

โ€”

You can also find these pixels on my Instagram: https://instagram.com/valentinprgnd. I will publish Pixels every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday about career development in tech, code, mental health and health for developers. Follow me for more tips @valentinprngd and check out my podcast https://rebased.whatdafox.com.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
hi_iam_chris profile image
Kristijan Pajtasev

Generally I would add it is good to have something outside of tech.

Not so much anxiety in my case as some other stuff, but if one day I go for run, next I play piano etc and it makes huge difference having something else to constantly look forward.

Collapse
 
pclundaahl profile image
Patrick Charles-Lundaahl

I definitely agree with this! It always amazes me how much better I feel after I take a break from my coding side project and play music or games for an evening.

Collapse
 
valentinprgnd profile image
Valentin Prugnaud ๐ŸฆŠ

I agree! Variety is key ๐Ÿ™‚

Collapse
 
dvlpr profile image
Travis Werbelow

As someone with anxiety, it's always nice to see this topic being talked about.

A couple things that help my anxiety are:

Writing things down, getting it out of my head and onto paper or digital helps a lot.

Meditation when I remember ๐Ÿ˜…

Like you mentioned, breathing. There are a handful of breathing techniques out there that are great.

Spending less time on social media, especially Twitter for devs. It can quickly be a place where you feel behind the times.

Collapse
 
valentinprgnd profile image
Valentin Prugnaud ๐ŸฆŠ

Great insights! Thanks for sharing your tips Travis ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿผ