DEV Community

Cover image for AUR - The Reason I Switched from Debian 12 to Arch Linux
Vasu Jain
Vasu Jain

Posted on

AUR - The Reason I Switched from Debian 12 to Arch Linux

I have been using Linux-based operating systems for the past couple of years now. I installed Linux Mint on my 6th gen i3 laptop to get better performance, and immediately fallen love with the command line. I love the fact we can control our whole system through certain sets of commands. I like the idea of installing an app through apt install directly and not having to go to that app website to first download an installer and click next multiple times to install an application.

With a package manager like apt all my applications installed through apt can be upgraded with one command all at once. This was mind-blowing for me, but there were many packages that were not present in apt and I had to manually install them from the .deb installer that I had to download from their site.

Recently I got to know about AUR (Arch User Repository) and I found out about its amazing functionality. You can install official arch-supported applications from their package manager pacman but here is the most beautiful part you can install 99% of your favorite apps from AUR using AUR helper yay . 9 out of 10 times if software is not present in the official arch repository you can find it of AUR. This possibility was so exciting to me that made me switch from my good Debian 12 + GNOME 44 to Arch + GNOME 45 and I do not regret it at all.

The experience of using pacman and yay to install stuff is just awesome, I don't even have to use my browser to search package names for an application which I am sure you can do with apt too but I didn't know about that possibility earlier.

In my opinion, this is the best way to install applications on Linux. I am pretty excited to learn more about package managers in the future so that I can level up my daily computer experience.

Top comments (0)