DEV Community

Cover image for Notch X : For Multi-taskers
Ved Nig
Ved Nig

Posted on

Notch X : For Multi-taskers

Image descriptionEver since the release of the latest MacBook there has been a crazy fuss surrounding the notch of MacBook.
But this story is not about notch on MacBook?
This one's about bringing MacBook's notch to Windows. So, once I searched the web how to add notch to windows I understood that though there were a few software capable. But all faced with the same problem that bringing a notch defeats the purpose of productivity.

Hence, there was this question I faced that how could you add a notch while at the same time making your system better?.
Now for one, there is one thing I should tell you that during this pandemic there were many instances when I learned but if there was anything that I learnt the most was to Multi-Task.
Such as, joining my online-classes, at the same time preparing for presentation in next class, as well as keeping updated with the messages from my group members for upcoming presentation.

For last few days I felt the need to access most important apps instantly. But each time I would have to go to Start Menu then Type The Name of App and then press Enter.

That's when I decided to create Notch X bringing the look and feel of notch and merging it with productivity for users.

And after coding, developing, designing and testing for 12*15 hours Notch X was born.

For starters, it is capable of:

  • Opening Notes :to know what to study

  • Opening Teams :to join my class

  • Xbox Gamebar :to record anything important in class and beyond

  • Settings :to quickly change microphone and camera access for conditions such as accidental enabling

  • And Wox : an application launcher faster than Start Menu

and I wish to add more features to it in future.
You can star the repo at rug-gui/notchx
You can also download the installer directly and install it.
(Though, it might have some bugs!)

Project is currently in Alpha Phase of Development.

And yeah, I believe even now it is not perfect, but there are a few improvements you can suggest too. And since it's open-source there can be few you can add yourself too.

Notched Forever💖

Top comments (0)