DEV Community

Veni Kunche
Veni Kunche

Posted on

Nevertheless, Veni Kunche Coded

I began coding because...

I tried out a Computer Science class in High School. I got hooked. Coding became my creative outlet. I love to create new things and be able to bring my ideas to life.

I'm currently working on...

syncing data between ScienceBase and the Science in the Great Lakes (SiGL) Mapper using Amazon Lambda.

I am also building mobile app templates for Ionic developers. I recently built an app template for conferences and I am working on one for e-commerce.

I'm excited about...

Slack Bots! I just learned how to build one. I'll be building one so that employers can share jobs with women in tech slack communities.

My advice for other women who code is...

Don't strive for perfection. Go after what you want now. It's ok to make mistakes. Sometimes trial and error is how you learn. If you don't try, you'll never know what you are capable of.

I've wanted to start my own business but I kept waiting for the right time, the right experience, and so on. I have the huge advantage of having the ability to create most software products. I am learning the business side as I go. Now that I've started down this path, I wish I started sooner.

Also, don't be afraid to ask for help. Take advantage of the amazing women in tech communities that are there to help you!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

I'm loving United Women of Tech! Thanks so much for sharing.