DEV Community

vikrantaroraa
vikrantaroraa

Posted on

Failures are blessings in disguise

I am not a motivational speaker! But i say this because i have experienced it myself. I completed my graduation this year but i was unable to get a job. And for the most part i can say that it is my mistake. I did not go to off campus placement drives but my friends did. And guess what, most of them got placed through those drives. And by the time i graduated i had a degree but not a job!

And ever since i came back home i applied for a lot of jobs but could not get any decent one. Reason being the fact that most of the companies today are looking to hire experienced programmers, someone who has worked in the company for at least 2 years. And most of the companies hiring freshers are done hiring during the March-April period.

Now let me tell you the good thing that came out it. One day one of my friends told me about the job challange started by Tanay Pratap Sir. This job challenge required anyone with programming knowledge to submit 5 projects, 3 Blogs (Mandatory) and 2 videos (Not Mandatory). And as soon as i came to know about it, i started preparing for it.

If i had been hired as a fresher by one the companies like Cognizant or TCS then i would have gotten busy with their regressive training schedule and i would have never tried to make apps like youtube-clone and spotify-clone that i have made recently as a part of the challange. Also i would have never even thought of writing a blog either.Because of this job challange i have grown a lot as a developer but this would never have happened if i had got a job earlier.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
bruechler profile image
Dominik Brüchler

That is a fantastic story. Congratulations! Did you already get feedback from the challenge or is it still ongoing? Would love to hear you eventually getting the job :)

Collapse
 
vikrantaroraa profile image
vikrantaroraa

Well, the challange is still ongoing however, yesterday was the last day of submission for present batch. Submission after 31 dec will be considered for March batch. I guess i will surely be writing another post about it if i get a job :)