DEV Community

Xun Zhou
Xun Zhou

Posted on • Updated on

Show/Hide desktop items on MacOS

I am a minimalist and I prefer to have a very clean desktop without any items. But I wanna be able to find/open the files in finder in the folder ~/Desktop.

To make it possible, I just create two aliases: deskon and deskoff.

alias deskon='defaults write com.apple.finder CreateDesktop -bool true && killall Finder'
alias deskoff='defaults write com.apple.finder CreateDesktop -bool false && killall Finder'
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

deskoff

by using command deskoff, I can hide all items from desktop to have a clean desktop with only wallpaper. But the hidden files are still shown in finder app on the path ~/Desktop.

Image description

deskon

by using command deskon, I can show the items again.

Image description

Top comments (0)