DEV Community

Vinh Nhan
Vinh Nhan

Posted on

Hacktoberfest 2024 - Week 2: Fixing Makefile Errors in Mikochi

Hello! πŸ‘‹

Following my successful contribution in the first week of Hacktoberfest , I was eager to continue my journey into open-source development. This week, I focused on the Mikochi project, addressing issue #21 related to errors in the Makefile.

The Issue at Hand

While working on the project, I attempted to launch the development environment using the command make dev, only to be met with the following error:

ls backend | grep __debug_bin | gxargs -I {} rm backend/{}
/bin/sh: gxargs: command not found
make: *** [down] Error 127
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

The issue stemmed from a minor typo in the Makefile: the command gxargs was incorrectly used instead of xargs. Although it seemed like a small mistake, it significantly disrupted the workflow.

Preparing for the Fix

To resolve the issue, I needed to dive into the Makefile to understand its structure and how the commands were executed. Familiarizing myself with this file was essential for implementing the fix correctly.

The Code Fix

The specific line that required modification was as follows:

Before:

ls backend | grep __debug_bin | gxargs -I {} rm backend/{}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

After:

ls backend | grep __debug_bin | xargs -I {} rm backend/{}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

By simply replacing gxargs with xargs, I ensured that the command would execute properly without throwing an error.

Challenges and Research

One challenge I faced was distinguishing between standard and non-standard command-line tools. To prepare for the fix, I researched how xargs works and its intended purpose, which helped clarify the root of the issue.

Interaction with Project Maintainers

After submitting my pull request, which you can view here, I had a constructive interaction with the project maintainers. They informed me that gxargs was a non-standard executable that was being used. However, they agreed that using xargs would provide a more universally compatible solution, leading to the approval of my pull request.

Conclusion

This second week of Hacktoberfest has deepened my understanding of open-source contributions and the importance of clear communication with project maintainers. Each issue I tackle not only enhances my technical skills but also builds connections within the developer community. I encourage anyone considering participation in Hacktoberfest to take the leapβ€”you'll gain invaluable experience and make meaningful contributions!

Top comments (0)