DEV Community

Cover image for Public Speaking Monthly Challenge: Check-in!
BekahHW for Virtual Coffee

Posted on

Public Speaking Monthly Challenge: Check-in!

If you're following along with our challenge, let's take a look at what we're doing in the first two weeks:

Week One: Building Confidence and Your Topic

Building Confidence

  • Challenge: Identify and challenge negative thoughts about public speaking.
  • Activity: Record yourself delivering a short introduction and watch it back to identify areas for improvement (optional).

Topic Selection and Outline

  • Step one: Create a list of 5-10 topics you're passionate about or that you want to learn more about.
  • Step two: Create a rough outline of 2-3 from the list.

Week Two: Crafting Your Content

  • Challenge: Finalize your topic and develop a clear, concise message.
  • Activity: Draft an outline for your talk, including an introduction, main points, and conclusion.

What challenges do you need to overcome in public speaking? What topics are you interested in sharing? What does your outline look like?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

Actually, I'm doing my best to build a complete talk and I'm afraid about leaving something important out. I already took my topic and my outline is looking a little messy. Soon I hope I can record myself giving a small introduction about it.