DEV Community

ORJI CECILIA O.
ORJI CECILIA O.

Posted on • Updated on

"Everybody struggles"

struggle

I am an Outreachy intern (3 weeks now, wow!) working on the Tor Browser, a free and open-source software project that allows users to browse the internet anonymously but particularly to Extend GetTor to distribute TorBrowser on censored networks over IM and social media. I have come to realize that everyone struggles at some point in their career. No matter how skilled or experienced you are, there will always be challenges and obstacles that you need to overcome. Moreso, for someone just starting out professionally, the feeling of inadequacy is extremely poignant.

What are my struggles?

So... my struggle initially when I came on the project was running the codebase but what helped me a lot is asking questions, then came the problem of understanding the entire codebase and what is happening which if I am been sincere I still do not totally know what is happening but I just focus on what I am working on what is happening there.

A trip takes us
As an intern, I have struggled with understanding complex technical concepts(I use Google most time) and getting up to speed on the project's development process. These struggles are natural and are a part of the learning and growth process as I have been told during the live chats on the Outreachy community channel.

One thing that has helped me to cope with these struggles is to remember that I am not alone. Every developer, no matter their level of expertise, goes through similar struggles. It's important to seek out support from colleagues and mentors (of which my mentor "meskio" and the other community members have been of immense help) and to remember that it's okay to ask for help.

Another thing that is helping me to overcome my struggles is keeping an open mind and a positive attitude. It's easy to get discouraged when things don't go as planned, but it's important to stay focused and to keep trying. By approaching challenges with a positive attitude, I have been able to find solutions and make progress in my work.

What's Next?

Despite the challenges that I have faced, I am learning a lot during my time as an intern with the Tor Browser, and I am grateful for the opportunity to be a part of this amazing open-source project. I hope that by sharing my experiences, I can encourage others to embrace their struggles and to keep pushing forward, no matter how difficult things may seem.

As I continue to work on the Tor Browser, I am looking forward to learning even more and contributing to the project in meaningful ways. I am excited to see where my journey as an intern takes me and to see what the future holds for me in the world of open-source software development.

Top comments (0)